Thursday, 14 March 2019 23:02

AFSCME Local 1785 Endorses Incumbent Billy Barlow for Mayor

Written by
AFSCME President Tim Woodard and Mayor Barlow with members of AFSCME Local 1785. AFSCME President Tim Woodard and Mayor Barlow with members of AFSCME Local 1785. Submitted photo

AFSCME Local 1785 has unanimously endorsed Billy Barlow in his re-election campaign for Mayor of Oswego.

AFSMCE Local 1785 serves the City of Oswego's two wastewater facilities and is the first City union to endorse the Mayor's re-election efforts.  During Barlow's first term, the wastewater facilities saw several improvements to both facilities with nearly $3.2 million of investment, increased levels in staffing, and a reduction of the City sewer bill by $200 annually.

Timothy Woodard, President of AFSCME Local 1785 said "We here at AFSCME Local 1785 recognize and appreciate the key part Mayor William Barlow has played in getting our Wastewater Treatment plants some much needed upgrades and new equipment for both of our facilities.  As employees we feel that he is fair and respectful in our labor contract negotiations. We look forward to continuing to work with Mayor Barlow and his administration toward our common goals to benefit the City of Oswego."

"I am absolutely honored to have the endorsement of AFSCME Local 1785 and truly appreciate their support," said Mayor Barlow.  "I have the utmost respect and appreciation for the hardworking members of AFSCME Local 1785.  Together, we've done incredible things at our wastewater facilities.  From improving the overall conditions of both facilities, to finding efficiencies and adopting new practices, we've made enormous progress in making the plants safer for our employees and more productive for our residents.  Our accomplishments would not have been possible without the dedication, commitment and hard work of the members of AFSCME Local 1785 and that is why this endorsement is so special," Barlow said.

AFSCME Local 1785 has a 10 member unit in the City of Oswego.  Barlow, seeking his second term, was elected Mayor of Oswego in the Fall of 2015, taking office January 1st, 2016.  If re-elected, his second term would span from January 1, 2020 - December 31st, 2024.

Leave a comment

The website and social media pages promote only positive, upbeat content including comments and reviews. With this in mind, we will only publish the positive aspects of any comments or reviews. You can always find something you like about everything! Negativity has no place within our site. Thank you!