Monday, 11 February 2019 21:07

NBC Sports Network to Broadcast NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour August 31

Written by
NBC Sports Network to Broadcast NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour August 31 Submitted photo

NASCAR and NBC Sports Network recently revealed their coverage schedule for the 2019 season which is set to include the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour’s return to Oswego Speedway on Budweiser International Classic Weekend Saturday, August 31.

2019 marks the third year in a row that NBCSN will broadcast the NASCAR Whelen Modified event and the sixth year in a row that Classic Weekend at Oswego Speedway will hit national airwaves.

“We’re grateful to be able to continue our exposure on national television through the ongoing partnership between NASCAR and NBCSN,” said track owner John Torrese. “Last year’s Modified Classic was as exciting as we’ve seen in a long time. We’re excited to welcome the tour back to Oswego in 2019.”

Similar to the past two seasons, the event will not be broadcast live, but instead will air just five days later on the NBC Sports Network. The airdate for the 150 has been set for Thursday, September 5 at 6:00pm.

Fans hoping to catch the action can do so on various networks including DIRECtv, Dish, and Spectrum. Those interested are encouraged to check their local listings as the broadcast date draws near.

NASCAR has been a part of Oswego’s Classic Weekend for each of the past three seasons with a different winner visiting victory lane in all three shows.

In Oswego’s first NWMT event since 1989, multi-time series champion Doug Coby went to victory lane followed by rising NASCAR star Ryan Preece a year later.

Last year’s 150 brought the return of live pit stops as well as the elimination of the halfway break. This set up an exciting race to the finish which saw Matt Hirschman join his father Tony on the NWMT win list at Oswego over Justin Bonsignore, Coby, Woody Pitkat and Eric Goodale in the top five.

Another very impressive selection of Modifieds is expected this Classic Weekend as last year’s event brought the healthiest field since the tour’s return to Oswego. Stay tuned to Oswego Speedway social media for driver announcements leading up to the event.

For more information on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, you can visit them online at The tour begins its 2019 season on Saturday, March 16 at the Myrtle Beach Speedway in South Carolina.

Classic Weekend 2019 will run from Friday, August 30 to Sunday, September 1. It is set to feature the Sunoco New York Super Stock Series Dave London Memorial plus Budweiser International Classic 200, Bud Light Classic 75, and 350 Supermodified Classic time trials on Friday followed by the Mod Classic 150 and the ISMA Supernationals on Saturday. The three day spectacular comes to a close with the 63rd annual Budweiser International Classic for the Supermodifieds, the 28th Bud Light Classic for the Small Block Supers, and the 2nd 350 Supermodified Classic on Sunday.

To renew Classic tickets or season passes for the 2019 season, you can contact Paul Conzone at [email protected] You can also call the track box office at (315)-342-0646. Fans have until May 1 to renew tickets for the upcoming season.

For more information on Oswego Speedway, be sure to visit online at You can also FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway or LIKE on Facebook at

About Oswego Speedway: Oswego Speedway, a sports entertainment company, is a 5/8 mile semi-banked pavement racing oval located off the shores of Lake Ontario in scenic Oswego, NY. Oswego Speedway has been a continuously run weekly racing venue since August, 1951. The premier open-wheel pavement short track cars in the world, Supermodifieds, run weekly at Oswego Speedway making Oswego the only weekly Supermodified racing venue in the world. The Small Block Supermodifieds accompany the full blown Supers on a weekly Saturday night schedule which runs from May through September. Oswego Speedway is mentioned in racing circles as the “Indy of the East,” as no fewer than a dozen past and present competitors have competed at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway including Mario Andretti, arguably the greatest driver of all time, two-time Indy 500 champion Gordon Johncock, along with former International Classic Champions Bentley Warren, Joe Gosek, and Davey Hamilton.

Leave a comment

The website and social media pages promote only positive, upbeat content including comments and reviews. With this in mind, we will only publish the positive aspects of any comments or reviews. You can always find something you like about everything! Negativity has no place within our site. Thank you!